Tags

, , , , , ,

Prayer of the Day
All-powerful God, in Jesus Christ you turned death into life and defeat into victory. Increase our faith and trust in him, that we may triumph over all evil in the strength of the same Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord.  Amen
I’ve always wondered about this particular passage, or story.  Things would have been so much different if only Adam had confessed.  I think that’s what God was wanting him to do, but it never happened.  And for some cultures this is the reason why they have the women suppressed in a way.  Then again the men in those same cultures are more scared of them than what they really want to say.  Still, in the end, the culture isn’t as stable as when the women are educated.  Things change so much because it’s the women who run things (much to the chagrin to those same men).
Psalm 130 (KJ21)

Psalm 130 21st Century King James Version (KJ21)

130 Out of the depths have I cried unto Thee, O Lord;

Lord, hear my voice! Let Thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.

If Thou, Lord, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?

But there is forgiveness with Thee, that Thou mayest be feared.

I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in His word do I hope.

My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning— I say, more than they that watch for the morning.

Let Israel hope in the Lord, for with the Lord there is mercy, and with Him is plenteous redemption.

And He shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.

We see the problems that were created in the Genesis story to be resolved,  at least in a way with Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians.  If only we would swallow our pride things would be so much better — both spiritually and communally (and with this I mean the community you live in).
In Mark’s gospel we also see how God will always be there for us, even if we make mistakes (like Adam’s).  All we have to do is admit to it.  The key is if we have the courage to do that.  Sometimes that’s the problem.  We chicken out (if you would).